Counting the Yields

Not my tomatoes

Not my tomatoes

I’m back from a week of vacation out in the maritimes, where I spent a half day on Sarah and Joey’s farm.  I learned valuable lessons: if you’re allergic to ragweed, don’t walk through fields of it; farming acres of land is significantly harder than urban gardening; I’m not cut out for farming.

Regardless, I had a great day! I discovered the joys of eating warm cherry tomatoes (several varieties, I might add) off the vine, purple beans, and cabbage as far as the eye can see.  Joyful.

I also thought I’d play a fun little game.  If Ross and I had to live off the yields of my urban gardening, how would we have fared?

Not well.  Yields to date: Bok choy (so much that I can’t even look at it anymore, but it’s still growing…we’re having it AGAIN tonight); 12 carrots, only two of which are full size; 1 green pepper.  It was supposed to be red, but a squirrel ate it, so we picked it early; 1 salad a week of mixed greens each; 6 litres of green and yellow beans; 1 cob of corn.

So it wasn’t exactly plentiful, but it was a lot of fun, and there’s still more growing to be done! Another round of greens have been planted, I’m hoping to save some waterlogged tomatoes, and I hold out hope for more peppers.  Spinach will also be planted when it cools down next week.    I’m hoping some of the cobs will also mature into full-size bits of deliciousness.

The only thing plentiful in this garden is hope!

Leave a Reply

