Darby workshop

I’d forgotten how much I don’t like people that do yoga.

Okay, maybe that’s not entirely true – there are some wonderful people in my life who do yoga. I guess what I don’t like is the group atmosphere of workshops where everyone is super keen and interested and learning and writing things down that they’ll never read again and diagnosing all their life’s problems and revering the instructor to the point of deity worship.

Or maybe I’m just really cynical and was having a bad day yesterday. Anyway, yesterday was the first two hours of the Darby workshop. He was quite good, and I’m going to enjoy learning from him – if I can put up with my fellow yogis and yoginis. Hopefully he picks up the pace a bit. Yesterday we just did surynamaskara A and B, the first two standing poses, and Utthita parsvakonasana. In two hours.

Also – have I mentioned lately that I can’t move my neck? I think it’s the stress from my old job finally coming out, but it’s SOOOO painful and I haven’t had the chance to get a massage yet. Might be a priority for Monday at this point.

Today we’re going to explore some more poses from primary series – then some chakra work, followed by meditation and pranayama. We’ll see. Also – I hate meditating.

Leave a Reply

