Happy New Year! Now let’s get sewing….

For Christmas this year, I got a sewing machine. I’d been thinking on and off about getting one for a while, but it was still a total surprise, and a good one. I’m pretty stoked to be able to make all the things I ever wanted right now! Only problem is, I don’t actually know how to use it. However, I’m confident that I can figure it out with few serious problems.

Or not. Because in my usual style, I immediately went out, selected a pattern (for a skirt I need to be able to wear in three weeks), bought some fabric (with quite a bit of help from the woman at fabricland, who offered to give me her home phone number – I’m not sure she was as confident as I am about my ability to do this), and then promptly figured out how I would modify the pattern. Yes, you read me right. Modify. Because the pattern itself isn’t good enough, but it’s close. And what could possibly go wrong with me sewing a skirt, on a deadline, for the first time, with a modified pattern?

So – what you’re looking at is black silk (textured), the pattern pinned on and laid out, and the measuring tape measuring where I’m modifying the pattern. I want this to be a floor length skirt, so I’m adding a few inches to the bottom. Not convinced this will work? Neither am I. Anyone have a floor length, black skirt in a 10-12?

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year! Now let’s get sewing….

  1. “Because in my usual style…” and everything that followed brought a big smile to my face because I’ve never done anything like that.

    Oh, so in Miami I bought a beautiful dress to wear to my cousin’s wedding this summer. After a few (read – I may as well move in) trips to the gym, it should fit.

  2. So… how is the sewing coming along?

    Did you know that my mom is a sewing genius and made most of my clothes until I began rejecting them in my teens? She also made my prom dress (yes, i wore a dress) that had a beautiful french brocade corset top and long satin bottom… I think I still have it in a closet somewhere…

  3. It’s coming along…I have another update, but didn’t have time to post it this weekend. Hoping to mostly wrap things up this weekend…particularly since the wedding is next weekend. 🙂 I did not know that about your mother – that’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

