New cookbook, new bread

I’ve been putting off making bread for a while, as I didn’t have a reliable vegan bread recipe. I know, not that hard to find, but it was definitely a great excuse to go cookbook shopping. The shopping aspect was almost a disaster though – I became so overwhelmed by all the cookbooks that I couldn’t decide. I also had a hard time with all the trendy cookbooks out there, and the fact that Chapters was lousy with Sundayers. I came to the realization that there are a lot of really shit cookbooks out there. However, I also figured out that cookbooks that people have tried out make a great gift. (hint, hint) At one point I almost broke down and called Sarah S, but decided that I had the skills necessary to figure this one out. I finally settled on La Dolce Vegan by Sarah Kramer, and am taking her Sassy Sandwich bread recipe for a test drive this afternoon. So far, so good. Yes, I already succumbed to modifying the recipe – just by using whole wheat flour instead of white…..(and yeah…I’m totally making Ross-unfriendly bread. It happens.)

Anyway, baking bread is a bit of a time-consuming process. Mostly lots of waiting around. So in the time while the bread was rising, I got it into my head that I should make dinner – which is mushroom philos (like the goat makes) and salad. So I did that. Then I decided that I should make some muffins. Turns out I wanted mascarpone blueberry muffins. Not vegan, not even a little. Meh. Delicious though!

Mascarpone Blueberry Muffins
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup mascarpone cheese
1 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 cup oil
1/2 tsp almond extract, baking soda, baking powder, sea salt
2 cups of oat flour
1 cup of blueberries

Method: Mix together, and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes.

One thought on “New cookbook, new bread

  1. I have two of Kramer’s books. Fantastic. I love the soup recipes the most! For more goodies, my friend Anne relies on the folks at post-punk kitchen: http://www.theppk.com/
    They did a pbs cooking show in NYC a while back and now they have online recipes and a book on cupcakes. Yes!

Leave a Reply

