Photo class, week 1

Jenn and I signed up for a photography class through SPAO. At first I wasn’t sure it was going to be that good – a lot of terms got thrown about all at once, and it seemed like our instructor thought we knew a lot more than we did. But turns out he’s great, and I learned a ton during the first class. (He was particularly patient with the ‘ummm….I have no idea what you’re talking about’ comments.) Here are the results of my first photo assignment. Not that exciting for some of you, but of interest to at least a few people. And yes, I will warn my class that they will be seeing a lot of photos of Nugget. Deal with it. I have to look at your stupid subjects. Not everyone thinks babies are cute.

So this first photo is the best photo that we took in class. The actual subject for this assignment was a ball that people were throwing, but I was not successful in capturing that. So I took a photo of a car instead. Whatevs. The idea here is that I’m following my subject, keeping it in focus, and blurring the background. I think I used a 1/15 shutter speed.

This next one is a “freeze” shot. I have two accomplishments that I’d like to discuss here. a) I got Nugget to play fetch and b) I got the shot! I had to use the option for multiple shots all rapid fire – sorry, I don’t know what that’s called, and I had to take photos before he got in the frame, but it was a good learning experience. Shutter speed was 1/500.

This is an example of a ‘blur’. Shutter speed was 1/15, and again, I used the multiple photo option to good effect. The composition could use a bit of work, but there ya go.


And this final one (not of Nugget!) is a ‘pan’ photo. The shutter speed was 1/15, and I followed the subject, keeping her mostly in focus. It could be a bit sharper, but that’s life. The exposure is also a bit dark, but it reflects the lighting conditions at the park. I like the composition of this shot.

One thought on “Photo class, week 1

Leave a Reply

