Mexico Mexico

In the fall of 2006, I went on a trip. Some of you may remember: it was the trip that I was never coming back from. During the trip, I went overland from San Diego down to El Salvador. Sadly, I didn’t take a lot of pictures of Guatemala or El Salvador – I was pretty sick, and not really feeling like it.

My first stop was Baja California – the desert was actually really lush because a hurricaine had gone through a few days before, leaving everything moist and green.

Baja California

After Baja, I went down to Guadalajara – a great city with great architecture – my second favourite city in Mexico, after Mexico city.

Tapatia Plaza, Guadalajara

I was in Mexico city for independence day celebrations – it was a really big parade that year because of the contested election between Lopez Obrador and Calderon. Lots of protests – Obrador was still running his parallel government during this time, and contesting the election.

Democratic Conference, Mexico City 2006


I went to see the ruins at Teotihuatican – it was super hot, but a great day.

Teotihuatican


After spending a few days in Mexico city, I travelled to the surfing town of Puerto Escondido, where I did some surfing, some lounging, and general relaxing. This is not me surfing. This particular part of the beach is quite dangerous, and a few days before I got there, an American apparently drowned. I stayed in the area for beginners.

Puerto Escondido, Mexico

Then I travelled south again to San Cristobal de las Casas – another great Mexican town in Zapatista country. It was so cold there – high up in the mountains and rainy – almost required a sweater. Really beautiful though.

San Cristobal de las Casas

Want more? Check out my travel blog.

Leave a Reply

