My first squash

For those of you who think I’ve been neglecting the garden in favour of photography, you are wrong! The garden is humming along nicely without much intervention this year. I’ve had a bit of a run-in with the squirrels – they insist on eating my just ripe tomatoes, and a few peppers have also been decimated by their little jaws. However, the situation appears to be mostly under control now. Behold the fruits of my labour:

Ross gave me a rose plant for our anniversary, and I finally got it to flower again.

Squash, of the buttercup variety, I do believe.

And the beginning of some more urban corn:

Thor gave me a gift of eggplant, or Aubergine.

The Okra seems less than pleased with its lot in life.

One thought on “My first squash

  1. Just as well- you are aware, I presume, of how weird okra is? I’m surprised it, rather than capers, is not part of your triumvirate of edible evil. Most of the time, I can’t believe okra is a vegetable, toothy and internally slimy as it is.

Leave a Reply

