It’s that time of year again…..

This weekend, I hit back at winter. I did one of my favourite things to do: Organize seeds! It was so nice sitting in the house, with the super cold wind gusting outside, looking through my seed collection.

I organized into a few different categories based on when things should be started inside. The first thing I’m going to start this year will be strawberries. I didn’t have a lot of success with them last year, but I’m going to try again. I think I’ll start those around the 13th of February.

I always start my seeds on the weekend, ’cause that’s when I have time to get things organized. However, as the season heats up, sometimes I do a bit of seeding during the week, especially if the weather cooperates. However, at this point in time, the weather isn’t that much of an issue. It’s always nice and warm in the house. 🙂

I’ve also got plans for a makeshift greenhouse this year that’ll protect my seedlings from both the elements and little prying hands (I hope). I don’t yet know what I’ll do with the raccoon problem we have in the area, but we’ll see. Photos and anecdotes to follow.

It’s almost officially planting season 2011!!

2 thoughts on “It’s that time of year again…..

  1. A belated comment re: building a makeshift greenhouse… There are neat plans available on the web for cheap and easy greenhouses made of PVC pipe. Just one idea…

    • Hmm…I think I saw that somewhere else as well…it seems daunting. I’m not that handy. 🙂

      Wanna come up and make a greenhouse with me?

Leave a Reply

