Food in Ottawa

By popular demand, this here is a blog post about eating out in Ottawa. One of my friends suggested that I start a restaurant blog. While I’m not quite up for that, I am up for doing up a post on good places to eat, and places to avoid, in Ottawa. I’m hoping to update this regularly as I re-visit many of the restaurants around here. If you have a suggestion for a place to try, leave it in the comments and I’ll give it a go!

The Best of Ottawa:

Murray Street *****
Some of the best food available in Ottawa. They always have a vegetarian option, and their meats are to die for. Last time I tried the ‘smores, and they were fantastic. Home-made marshmallows, chocolate, ice cream, all served up in a mason jar. Delicious! Their wine list is also outstanding.

The Manx ****
Beau’s on tap, great burgers, really delicious vegetarian tacos. Highly recommended for a nice evening out. It gets busy though, so go early, or hope to get lucky!

Chez Lucien ****
Stella Artois, Waupoos cider, great staff, great burgers. They’ll modify pretty much anything on the menu to make it vegetarian. Best fries in town, hands down. It’s jammed on Friday nights. We go almost every Friday, so email if you want to come, because we have to get there early to get a table!

Murray’s Market ****
I love brunch, but I hate sitting down for hours and hours on Saturday or Sunday waiting for food. I want my food, and I want to eat it, and I want to get on with my day. Murray’s Market satisfies perfectly. We eat here pretty regularly, and the last time I had a grilled cheese sandwich on egg bread with sweet chilli sauce. Great! Good coffee, and great mac ‘n cheese.

Play *** 1/2
Great small plates, great wine list. It’s seasonal, so some seasons are better than others. We were last there on July 5th, and it was pretty good. I had gnocchi, fries, and something else that I can’t remember, and it was all good. Not the best food they’ve served us, and the waitress was a little too attentive, but overall still a positive dining experience.

Fraser Cafe *** 1/2
We fist ate at the Fraser Cafe in its old location; it seated about ten people comfortably. Now that it’s moved, it’s lost a bit of charm, but the food is still good. We last went for brunch, and I had the scrambled eggs. They were very good. Great coffee. Good service.

Haveli’s ***

Indian food in the market. Delicious! Very heavy though, so careful what you order. The food is good, the service is good, and the location is very close. I haven’t eaten there in a while – probably about six months, but I recommend it.

The Worst of Ottawa:

Pancho Villa

We ate there yesterday, and it was really bad. I had the house salad with avocado. I’ve never had such bland avocado in my life, and it was served on iceberg lettuce. The quesadillas were fine – cheesey and fried, which is what one looks for in quesadillas. My sister, unfortunately, had the shrimp stir-fry. The vegetables were from a bag of frozen vegetables, and it was almost entirely tasteless. The service was horrendous, and when we complained to the manager, he couldn’t have cared less. Needless to say, we won’t be going back.

Leave a Reply

