A decision

For the last few days, I’ve been back and forth on the idea of going to St Andrews to do a PhD. I’ve basically decided the following:

– having a PhD will not help me make more money or get a better job
– getting a PhD will cost a lot of money, and funding is far from guaranteed
– getting a PhD will be a lot of work and will involve a lot of hardship
– there are few, if any, academic jobs, and even if there were any, I wouldn’t want them (undergrads: need I say more?)

So having said all that, it seems like the only logical decision is for me to not pursue a PhD, right? Well, logic may suggest that, but that is not what I’m doing. I’ve decided to go to St Andrews and get my learn on.

Why, you ask? Well, because I want to! It’s not about money, or status, or job prospects, or anything tangible like that. It’s about a love of learning, a desire for new experiences, and frankly, a bit of a change of scenery. (The scenery at home is lovely; I don’t want to change that. At work, however, things could stand for a bit of a shake-up.)

There you have it. I know it sounds naive, idealistic, and perhaps a little loopy, but that’s what I’ve decided. I go in September.

3 thoughts on “A decision

  1. Totally agree with all your reasoning. Have a blast and represent the Cdn ladies. Don’t forget our Master’s coping mechanisms – Risk and alcohol with a side of pub food.

Leave a Reply

