Jenn and Jess’s Roadtrip 2012

Jenn and I are going on an epic road trip. We’re driving from Calgary back to Ottawa. Money is even on whether or not I make it. There are direct flights from the Sault though via Porter, so that’s always an option. (JK: if you’re reading this, just kidding!)
But seriously, this is going to be a great trip. I’ve never really understood the appeal of Canadian wilderness, so seeing it first hand, even from a highway, will hopefully make it a bit more accessible.
In terms of plans for the trip, I’m interested in a couple of things. Firstly, I’m interested in checking out a variety of yoga studios – there are Mysore-style classes in Calgary, Regina, and Winnipeg, so hopefully I’ll make it to a few of those. Secondly, I’m interested in doing a bit of photography – urban landscapes mostly. I’ll post some of the better photographs on the blog, although they’re part of a bigger project exploring contemporary interpretations of Canadian landscapes that will likely take me several years to finish.

I’m also going to use the time to do a bit more work on the photo project that I’ve been working on for about a year. I’m going to try to put it into e-book format so I can disseminate it to people. I’m going to use Lightroom and a blurb plugin to try and make that happen.

Finally, I’m also looking forward to a bit of contemplative time. I’ve had a number of interesting revelations about my future lately – what I want to do with my life, and how I want to do it. It mostly involves a lot more writing and photography.

Stay tuned for updates from the road and our progress. I’ll be tweeting and blogging the whole way, so you catch me at urbancorn.wordpress.com, or connect with me on twitter @jessmarindavis.

Leave a Reply

