We’ve come a long way, baby

About a year ago, I decided to get a bike. It was after a recent trip to Copenhagen where I admit I was completely overwhelmed by the bicycle culture. I’d never seen anything like it. Not only were people riding bicycles everywhere, there were super cute and stylish while they were doing it. (and they were carrying hilarious things at the same time!) My only experience with bicycle culture to that point was Ottawa, to the extent that you could call what was happening in Ottawa to be bicycle culture. In Ottawa, that mostly meant commuting in from the suburbs along bike paths in spandex, something I was loathe to do for both the spandex and suburbs components.

The Copenhagen trip also coincided with another shift in my life: I was becoming increasingly disenchanted with oc transpo. Don’t get me wrong – I’m a huge advocate of public transit, but I’d had several negative experiences with it. Not only were the buses increasingly unreliable (regularly coming late, or worse, early), but routes had been cut, making the bus an incredibly inconvenient way to get around town.

So the Copenhagen experience combined with the lost love for oc transpo led me to joe Mammas on bank street. Quick shouting to my friend Tiff here- she was the one who mentioned the cute bikes in the window. So one Saturday morning in July, Ross and I borrowed my sister’s car and off we went. A few hours later I was the proud owner of a Linus. Just in case you don’t now, he’s beautiful.

In the last year, Linus and i have gone all over the city . We’ve traveled over 1200 km together in all types of weather. Our best month together was September of 2011: we net over 166km that month! However, we are both quite proud of the 75km we biked in February and the 121km we did in march!

The best part: I’ve saved over 800$ in bus fees last year, more than making up for his purchase price, and I haven’t had to take a bus in months!

I think I’m a definite convert to the bicycle lifestyle, and can’t imagine being without my loyal Linus.

Leave a Reply

