Have I mentioned how much I love pasta?

I love pasta. It’s warm, easy, and filling. But mediocre pasta also makes me a little sad, because I know how good it can be. A friend was telling me about this great pasta that she makes with sausage, which of course was a no-go for me, but the method was intriguing. It involved making the pasta in the sauce. I thought I’d give it a try, and see what happened. Boy, am I glad I did. Fancy, delicious pasta was the result. Here’s how it went down: Caramelized Onion Pasta

I knew I wanted caramelized onions (because I always want caramelized onions), so I did that first.

3 large yellow onions in about 1/4 cup of oil, 1 Tbsp of balsamic and 1Tbsp of brown sugar, in the oven at 350 for about an hour (or longer or shorter depending on how you like things)

Then I made the sauce:

1 cup of cashews (soaked: you should do this for several hours, but I don’t. It’s fine.)

1 cup of crushed tomatoes

1 Tbsp of tomato paste

2 cups of stock (I used fake chicken stock)

Blend all that together, then, in a pan with some olive oil, quickly saute 2-3 garlic cloves, minced. Add the sauce and cook for a few minutes and season with salt and pepper. Pour all that goodness into a big pot (oven safe), and add 16oz / 454g of pasta.

Bake all that up real good for about 30 minute (350, of course), adding more stock if things are looking a bit dry. At the end, stir in a bunch of baby spinach and let it sit for a few minutes. This is also when I added in the caramelized onions.

Caramelized Onion PastaTop with some more salt and pepper, and add some vegan parmesan cheese if you’re into that kind of thing.

I also ate this for breakfast the next day, because I firmly believe there’s nothing better than breakfast pasta. Also, I wasn’t willing to surrender the leftovers to Boss.

One thought on “Have I mentioned how much I love pasta?

  1. I am definitely going to try this as it sounds delicious. This with a green salad now that Dad likes the new salad dressing I make. Should be an interesting addition to our vegetarian fare. Mom

    “I love fall! Fall is exciting. It’s apples and cider. It’s an airborne spider. It’s pumpkins in bins. It’s burrs on dog’s chins. It’s wind blowing leaves. It’s chilly red knees. It’s nuts on the ground. It’s a crisp dry sound. It’s green leaves turning And the smell of them burning. It’s clouds in the sky. It’s fall. That’s why… I love fall” Author Unknown

    >

Leave a Reply

